Corset Rant

I feel a rant coming on…

I am a huge corset lover. I own some, have been laced into several, design and plan ideas for new ones and have written essays about them. Not to mention the fact that I have spent a serious amount of my free time in a corset shop. I guess you can call me a bit of a corset geek. That’s why I cringe every time I hear someone say they want a proper well-made corset for say… 50 €. No, I’m not lying, I have actually heard people say that – not to mention all the times I’ve seen it written on blogs or in forums.

There are plenty of corset shops out there, both physical ones and online. Several are absolutely awesome with a good sense of how it should be done (Viola Lahger, Bizarre Design & Revanche de la Femme, to mention a few), but way too many are on the other end of the scale. And it’s these places that in my mind help spread the notion that if a corset costs more than 50 € (maybe 100 €, depending on the style) it’s too expensive and therefor not worth it.

Excuse me? You said what now? I highly beg to differ. To put it bluntly, in the world of corsetry you get what you bloody well pay for! It’s not only about design and fancy fabrics, what you actually pay for is craftsmanship. Making a corset is not easy, there’s a whole lot more to it than just sowing pieces of fabric together with some boning. If the pattern isn’t constructed correctly, you don’t have squat. Period.
But I guess it’s like when people ask if you can sew latex, they just don’t bother to have a proper look at what it is they actually want. If you just want something that gives a bit of support but is still comfortable (that is, you can run through ice and snow with it on and it won’t be a problem), then it’s a corselette you want to get. If you want something that looks edgy, kinky or nice but doesn’t cost anything, then I suppose these cheap-ass things labeled “corsets” will work. But if you want something that shapes and forms your body, giving it a whole new outline, then you do need to pay for it.

What really pisses me off though, is when people tell a company their corsets are too expensive because they can buy three for the same price somewhere else. I’ve even seen it written as a comment to a newly opened webshop that sell more or less the same corsets as one of these places – and this new shop has prices that I feel are too cheap. That is just too wierd for me to even understand. If you want good quality then you will have to pay more, it’s that simple. Because what you get is an item that will do what it promises, it will fit your body the way it should while re-shaping it, and if you take proper care of it, it will last you a lifetime.

Unfortunately, I can’t decide what people should do with their money. But I can at least give my advice and try to lead them towards good quality and a better understanding of getting value for money.

Leave a Reply

