Halloween & Cemeteries

It’s the end of October, which means Halloween and an abundance of Halloween themed photoshoots. It’s also right about now that cemeteries are being overly used as locations for these shoots.

Don’t get me wrong, I love cemeteries, always have, and have done some shoots in one. I love the feeling of mystique and serenity they give, the calmness as well as the sense of there being something more to life than what we see and know. But I do have one rule, and that’s that I never do any kind of shoots in cemeteries around Halloween.
There is a quite simple reason for this. Here in Sweden we have begun to celebrate Halloween on the 31st of October with parties and such, but the more traditional way is to go to the cemeteries on the first Saturday of November and light candles on the graves of our loved ones. Of course, I respect the dead but the holiday in itself would not be a good enough reason for me to not shoot in cemeteries. No, for me it goes a lot deeper. I can never feel comfortable shooting in cemeteries during this time of year because two dear relatives have past away close to Halloween/All Hallow’s Eve. In 2001, on November 2nd, my grandfather (on my father’s side) past away, and on November 7th last year, I lost my grandmother (on my mother’s side). I was very close to them both and even though they left this world with several years in between it still hurts. And it hurts even more around this time of year.

Hence why I never ever do cemetery shoots around Halloween.

But this is getting to be a very sad post. Let’s spice it up with a holiday appropriate photo, shall we?

Here’s from me, my vampire alter ego Miss Marie and KT Twisted Photography: Happy Halloween, my darlings! ❤

Leave a Reply

