On Nudity & Shoots

Every now and again I get asked why I don’t do nude shoots. The short answer: I don’t want to. Oh wait, you wanted the long answer? All right, here it comes…

Firstly, I don’t mind nude shoots and nudity in general. I love looking at well composed fine art nudes and admire every girl who feels comfortable enough being naked in front of the camera. Some of my favourite photos of other models are nude ones. My friend Insanitea, for example, has done some of the most beautiful FAN shoots that I know of. I just don’t see myself doing it, not even lingerie and glamour, and I do have my reasons for it.

1) I’m really not comfortable with the thought of taking my clothes of in front of a camera.

2) I’m hoping to get a job within the public sector and so to have nude shots floating around the Internet would not be a good thing. Latex and corsets I can defend as not damaging the imaging of the workplace. With FAN or glamour it would not be as easy ,and I am thinking about my own future and a career that will probably last longer than my modelling one.

3) For me, being fully naked or half-naked is something very intimate and requires a huge amount of trust. Of course there are a few photographers I feel that secure with, but it still wouldn’t feel a 100 % right. And if it doesn’t feel right, why should I do it?

It’s not than I’m not comfortable with my body, because I am. I’m very proud of my curves. I’m in my late 20’s and I know that there are women who would kill to have the shape that I have. Of course I have my bad days, everybody does. But I know I look good and I want to make the most of it.

I just prefer to do it with my clothes on, that’s all.

Leave a Reply

